Scrumpy Willow and Singing Kettle in Newcastle

Scrumpy Willow NewcastleWell I always do a bit ‘o research prior to leaving the house as to where I will be able to eat..especially (but not limited to) when I go somewhere new.  So before heading to Newcastle for the day I looked up veggie restaurants and found Scrumpy Willow and Singing Kettle.  The name is off-putting in my book but it looked good on the website so we went there for lunch.

It isn’t actually all veggie, there are a couple of eat/fish options so you’re weird meat-eating friends, who would happily wrestle a cow to the death for dinner but are terrified of a cheese sandwich, will be taken care of. It was a quiet Sunday afternoon and there was a laid back atmosphere.

Scrumpy Willow

I got feta and spinach crepes and boyfriend got sausage and mash.  Mine was delicious, boyfriend said he was ‘ok’.  So maybe their strength lies with the veggie cooking, although as usual I could have eaten 3 portions!

We both got smoothies which were really nice and motivated me to start smoothie-ing again when I got home.  I also ate the lime and coconut cheesecake which I found a bit too sweet but other people may like that.

In summary: I liked this place.

Categories: Food, Newcastle | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do you think? Comment below!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

