Postcards from the Olympics

A while back I shared the postcards I had received from Europe, but there are a few more that are Olympic themed.  I have been trying to visit as many Olympic stadiums as I can, not all have little gift shops but I picked up a few along the way.

olympics

I picked this up at the London Olympics (the 2012 ones not the 1948 ones…but all the contemporary postcards were awful I seemed to recall).

Barcelona 1

Barcelona 2

The stadium in Barcelona was built in 1927 and was the bid for the 1936 Olympics that was actually held in Berlin.  So this stadium was used for the 1992 games. It looked pretty sad when I visited in 2012.

munich

The Munich Olympics was in 1972, it’s infamous for the kidnap and murder of 11 Israeli athletes and a police officer, something  somewhat overlooked in the video that was playing during our visit. But the swimming pool was still in use, and there was an exhibition hall, and tours. So a lot more happening than Barcelona.

It’s hard to get photos of the stadiums and park when you’re there on the ground, and I never got to the crowds of feel the atmosphere of the live games, so I like collecting the postcards.  I’ve never been to an Olympic games, I went to the Paralympics in London though and the atmosphere was electric.

Categories: Barcelona, Europe, London, Munich, Random | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do you think? Comment below!

Blog at WordPress.com.

