Packing For USA

We set off for New York tomorrow, it’s gonna be a pretty epic trek to get there.  Leaving home at about 10:30am, to catch a 10:57am train to Leeds, then a nice 30 min wait at the exciting Leeds train station before catching the train to Manchester.  We’ll have about 2.5hrs in Manchester Airport before setting of at 15:45pm.  We land in London, and have about 1.5 hrs before finally getting on the plane to America.  We land at 10:30pm local time, which is 3:30am UK time so about 17hrs after setting off.

Oh working that our has just depressed me!

Anyway, I have the day off today to do some laundry, cleaning, and finish packing.  So I thought I would show you what I’ve packed.  I still have a few essentials missing like toothbrush, phone, keys, etc.

P1040499Obviously, the main suitcase is mainly clothes. That part of America has had some changeable weather recently, and I expect it’ll be nice when we’re there but a bit chilly in New York and a bit rainy in Washington.  There’s also the chance for sunny days, and that we might go to nice places for dinner, so I had to pack a variety of outfit options.  So I’m taking:

  • Bottoms- black jeans, blue jeans, green trousers, blue skirt, black skirt, green shorts
  • Tops- green t-shirt, grey flower top, pink top, star wars top, tie-dye t-shirt, black shirt (and vest to wear underneath)
  • Knitwear- L’amour jumper, pink cardigan, black hoody, dinosaur jumper, coat
  • Sportswear- running top, running leggings, sports socks, sports bra, headband, bikini
  • Also- black and white dress, PJ t-shirt, tights, socks, underwear

As you can see in the photo I’ve taken some of those clothes and put them in a pile next to my suitcase, these are my travel clothes.  I even have my underwear for traveling picked out so I don’t wake up and find there’s nothing clean in my drawer.

In my suitcase I also have my toiletries and hair things, my rain coat, a hat, emergency tea bags, some analogue cameras and film, and a plug adapter.  I’m using my backpack as my carry on luggage, and I have a plastic wallet with my passport, money, and travel insurance in it.  I have three books to pretend to read on the plane, my purse, and two small bags (one for day, one for evening for day-to-day use).  I also have spare underwear, socks, and a t-shirt in case my suitcase gets lost.

And most importantly, I have the birthday card my mum gave me to open on my birthday!

Categories: New York, Top Tips, USA | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do you think? Comment below!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

