Fortnum and Mason and Harrods

Whilst in London I wanted to do a small amount of Christmas shopping, mainly just fancy chocolate!

Fortnum and Mason

So after dinner we headed to Fortnum and Mason for a wander around.  I had been in there once before and got very distracted by fancy tea, there Green Jasmine is fairly delicious.  I didn’t realise that it was spread over several floors.   Fortnum and Mason was, and still is, famous for it’s hampers which are very expensive wicker boxes full of luxury booze, chocolates, and meat type products.  I’ve never bought one myself, I wouldn’t want to eat most of the stuff in it and they cost in the hundreds of pounds.  london4

You really question whether the stuff is worth the price, I have found the tea nice and boyfriend enjoyed his £6 chocolate bar, although he valued it at about £4.50.  The fact that it’s so expensive becomes part of the appeal for people I’m sure.  But the £40 shower caps were my breaking point…(they were crappy plastic ones with flowers stuck on wtf?!?!)

Harrods

On Friday morning we stopped off at Harrods before we headed to the museums.  It was Black Friday and boyfriend was having some kind of breakdown in advance of what he thought would be hoards of sale shoppers.  However, Harrods did not appear to have any Black Friday offers because why would it?  Anyway, we wandered in circles around the food hall getting frustrated.  It’s been a long time since I actually went for a look around in Harrods, it’s always horribly busy.  When I was a teenager I went upstairs to the kids section and bought a pen which was thrilling.  Anyway, they had some fun window displays with animatronic shop assistant.

london5

Categories: London, Random | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do you think? Comment below!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.